ACF Kano elects new Executives, offers scholarship to indigenes


Kano state Chapter of the Arewa Consultative Forum (ACF), has elected new executives to run the association for three years, after the tenure of the present leadership has ended.

The new executives were elected unopposed at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on Saturday in Kano.

Inaugurating the new executives the chairman of Board of Trustees, ACF Kano chapter General Halliru Akilu (rtd) charged them to justify the confidence repose on them.

Gen. Akilu tasked the new executives to develop programmes and policies that will take Kano and Northern Nigeria to greater height.

Read Also: Kano launches mass transit scheme with 100 buses, 50 taxis

The retired General who was among the founders of the ACF called on the leadership to partner with sister patriotic associations to move the forum forward.

In his acceptance speech, the newly elected chairman Dr Umar Faruk Gwani pledged to set up ACF scholarship scheme for indigents who cannot afford tertiary education as gradually government is commercialising the sector.

He added that the forum will also engage gubernatorial candidates from different political parties on its blueprint especially on education, healthcare, security, agriculture, youth and women empowerment.

According to him the new leadership will prioritize security through promoting community policing and how best to support security agencies and voluntary organizations in the fight against criminal activities.

Also speaking the state secretary Dr Muhammad Mustapha Yahaya pledged to justify the confidence reposed on them by replicating the success recorded during their six months interim leadership.

A statement by the Assisstant Secretary of the forum, Naisru Yusuf Ibrahim, said the new executives beside chairman and secretary encompass Hajiya Aishatu Yakubu Maijama’a (Deputy chairman), Amb. Dr Rufa’i Mukhtar Danmaje (Vice chairman) and Prof. Kamilu Sani Fagge (Assistant Secretary).

Others are Hajiya Rabi’a Hussaini Adamu (Treasurer), Hajiya Mairo Bello (Assistant Treasurer), Alhaji Bello Sani Galadanci (Publicity Secretary) and Nasiru Yusuf Ibrahim (Assistant Publicity Secretary).

The rest were Prof. Yusuf Alhassan (Auditor), Hajiya Hadiza Kishimi (Assistant Auditor), Barr. Kabiru Mukhtar (Legal Adviser) and Muhammad Kabiru Haruna (Assistant Legal Adviser).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here