Barau Jibrin declared winner of Kano North Senatorial election


Senator Barau I. Jibrin of the All Progressive Congress (APC), has been declared winner of the 2023 Kano North Senatorial District general election which held in the state.

Barau Jibrin, who is going to the red chamber for the third time was declared by the returning officer of the Senatorial district, Professor Tijjani Magaji Bamanga.

The APC candidate polled 234, 652 votes which makes him to win against his major opponent of the New Nigerian Peoples Party (NNPP), Dr. Baffa Bichi who polled 177, 014 votes.

Before the declaration, delegate of the NNPP urged the Returning Officer to declare the election inconclusive because of what he alleged to be over voting from some polling units.

However, the Returning Officer replied that there is not enough evidence, adding they should report any complaints to INEC and Tribunal.

The results below:


LGA: 13 Local Government Areas

Returning Officer – Professor Tijjani Magaji Bamanga

RAs – 10

Total Registered votes – 1, 187, 492
Total Accredited votes – 447, 148

APC – 234, 652
PDP – 12, 751
NNPP – 177, 014
LP – 1, 258

Total valid votes – 432, 087
Rejected votes – 8, 904
Total votes cast – 440, 991


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here