Kano speaker, APC, NNPP candidates declared winners of rep seats


The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Monday declared Hamisu Chidari, Speaker, Kano State House of Assembly, as winner for Danbatta/Makoda Federal Constituency.

Prof. Haruna Musa of Bayero University Kano (BUK), the Returning Officer, announced Chidari of APC as winner of the Feb. 25 House of Representatives election after scoring 30,346 votes.

Musa said Chidari defeated his closest contender, Badamasi Ayuba of NNPP, who polled 24,792 votes.

Again, the commission had declared Sani Bala of the APC as winner of Kunchi/Tsanyawa Federal Constituency in the state.

Prof. F. Abdullahi of BUK, the Returning Officer, announced the results in Tsanyawa Local Government Area on Monday.

Abdullahi said Bala scored 25,000 votes, while Safiyanu Mohammed of NNPP clinched 21,648 votes.

Also, Prof. Sani Ibrahim of BUK, the Returning Officer for Minjibir/Ungogo Federal Constituency, had declared Adamu Sani of NNPP as a winner of the parliamentary election after scoring 49,274 votes.

Ibrahim said Sani defeated Maaruf Sani Maiwake of APC who scored 16,629 votes.

Maiwake, who is the incumbent member of the constituency lost the bid to Sani of NNPP after staying in the green chamber for one single term.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here