Sumaila: 11 councillors decamp from APC to NNPP


A number of eleven serving councillors from Sumaila local government area have decamped from the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) to the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP).

In a letter signed by the council leader, Mustapha Garba Haladu said, their reason for leaving the APC for good was due to the local government chairman’s disregard to the members of the party.

“We, duly elected councillors from the 11 wards of Sumaila local government area of Kano state have dumped the APC for NNPP due to negligence, maltreatment and show of non-challant attitude and disregard to party members from the local government chairman.

The decampees are the council leader, Mustapha Garba Haladu, Sumaila, Umar Ibrahim Umar, Sitti ward and deputy council leader, Nuhu Ado of Gala-Gala ward, Abubakar Ahmad, Magami ward and Ismail Sabi’u Salisu, Gani ward.

Others are Ibrahim Abubakar, Massu ward, Ma’amiru Nuhu, Rumo ward, Atiku Idris, Garfa ward, Umar Abdussalam, Kanawa ward, Sule Adamu, Rini ward and Danjuma Sale of Gediya ward.

Daily Focus observed that 260 former councillors from the Kano South zone have recently left the All Progressive Congress (APC) for the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) joining the train of Abdulrahman Kawu Sumaila.

The Chairman of Sumaila local government area, Ibrahim Hamisu Rimi could not be reached for comment at the time of filing this report as his phone was switched off.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here